Our History

History of the Skating Club of Boston

  • Incorporated in 1912; third oldest club in U.S.
  • Club members of the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame: Dick Button, Tenley Albright, Bud Wilson, Cecilia Colledge, Willie Frick, and Benjamin T. Wright
  • Seven Club members have served as president of U.S. Figure Skating (formerly known as the USFSA): Winsor Weld, Charles M. Rotch, Sherwin C. Badger, Benjamin T. Wright, Hugh C. Graham, Jr., Franklin S. Nelson, and Charles U. Foster
  • Second Club president Winsor Weld was the first president of USFSA (1921)
  • “Quonset hut” rink construction recognized by architects and engineers
  • The Boston Skating Club, Inc. officially incorporated in 1996 to promote and manage large national and international competition
  • Host of 2001 U.S. National Championships
  • Host of 2014 U.S. Figure Skating Championships
  • Host of 2016 ISU World Figure Skating Championships


World & Olympic Champions
Dick Button
Tenley Albright

World Junior Champions
Jennifer Kirk
Stephen Carriere

U.S. National Champions
Nathaniel Niles
Theresa Weld
Sherwin Badger
Maribel Vinson
Roger Turner
Suzanne Davis
Dick Button
Joan Tozzer
Bradley Lord
Gretchen Merrill
Tenley Albright
Laurence Owen
Lorraine Hanlon
Marissa Castelli &
Simon Shnapir

Instagram Facebook YouTube Twitter Email

USFS NEICC The Micheli Center Home Ice Boston