Club Award – The Cleo Theodoropulos Excellence in Leadership Award

“A leader makes other people feel important and appreciated. A leader excels at creating opportunities to provide opportunities, recognition and thanks to their peers. A leader creates an environment in which people feel important and appreciated.” Susan Heathfield

A new award instituted in 2014, the JAC Excellence in Leadership Award was created to acknowledge members who are 13 and older, who participate regularly in the activities of the JAC and Club. In 2022, the award was renamed in honor of former JAC Co-Chair, Cleo Theodoropulos, who tragically passed away at the age of 16 from Ewing’s Sarcoma. Cleo demonstrated many of the qualities of this award throughout her abbreviated time at the Club. Her peers petitioned the Board of Directors to rename the award to memorialize Cleo and to inspire future leaders of the Club to follow in Cleo’s footsteps. The criteria of this award recognizes Club members who have:

  • Gone above and beyond the expectations of the Club and JAC community by inspiring their peers to be involved in Club activities that foster a sense of community
  • Consistently proven to be exemplary in their involvement with the JAC activities of the Club as well as in all aspects of their involvement with the Club
  • Fostered positive relationships with the JAC mentors, Club management and peers
  • Intentionally pursued the Club’s ideals through the attainment of established goals and continual development of programs for the youth of the Club.

Recent recipients:
2022 – Joyce Gong and Lilly Wallingford
2021 – Joyce Gong, Clara Gross, Chloe Man, Gemma Parker and Lilly Wallingford
2020 – Clara Gross and Lilly Wallingford
2019 – Paige Whouley and Victoria Laub
2018 – Dayoon Chang and Cleo Theodropulous
2017 – Emmy Ma, Paige Whouley, Caitlin Perkins
2016 – Ginevra David, Alyssa Karbel and Mia Zhang-Nacke
2015 – Isabelle Dost, Katie Rosen and Jessica Sims
2014 – Heidi Munger, Olivia Pastore, & Caitlyn Smith